The Content Collection is your access point to all files that you have access to in Blackboard. You can access the Content Collection either from the top level menu bar in the upper right-hand corner of Blackboard…
Or from within a course in the Course Management area.
When you expand the Content Collection, you should see a number of options appear.
- Your Course ID – Displays Course Content
- Your Pitt User ID – Displays Personal Content
- All Courses Content – Displays Courses Content for all your courses.
- All Organizations Content – Displays Organization Content for all your organizations.
- Institution Content – Displays Content for institution folders available to all instructors.
- Search Bar – Allows you to search for content
The two main content management areas are Course Content and Personal Content, which can be accessed by clicking the menu links for your Course ID or your Pitt ID respectively, though each content management window will look roughly the same, showing you to a list of all files, such as Word documents, PDFs, PowerPoint presentations, and image files.
In the Course Content Collection below, all the files you see have been uploaded directly into a content area from a computer. All content uploaded to your course through the content area will automatically appear in this list. It is also possible to upload content directly to the Course Content Collection, but students will not be able to access this content until it is directly linked to a content area. More information about this process is available in the Content Creation Knowledge Base Article.
Above, you will see an item listed in the Course Content Collection labelled Syllabus. This is a Word document which appears here after it is uploaded to the Syllabus content area in the course. If the item in the Course Content Collection is deleted, the link in the Syllabus content area will become invalid. However, if the link in the Syllabus content area is removed, this Word document still remains in this Course Content Collection.
This is important to know in case you need to permanently remove large or unneeded content from your course. All courses have a default quota of 250 MB, so if your content exceeds this, you may wish to delete large or unneeded content, or contact the Technology Help Desk to increase this quota for this individual course. Educational Technology Services encourages you not to upload large media files to your Blackboard course, and instead use Panopto to stream your course media.
To modify any existing content through the Content Collection, each item has a context menu button to the right, which allows you to Edit, Download, Copy, Move, or Delete the item in question. Copying and Moving allow you to copy or cut and paste this file from one course to another, or to and from your personal content collection. The copy process is similar to the process of copying material in a content area. To learn more, see our Content Creation Knowledge Base article.
This menu will also allow you to Overwrite the file, which is useful for updating your files without having to remove the links in your course. 360 View will also give you an overview of where this content is linked in your course. It is possible to link a file in the Content Collection to multiple areas of a course, or even to multiple courses provided they have the right permissions. To learn more, see our Content Creation Knowledge Base article.
When you select your Pitt Username (link number 2 above), you access your Personal Content Collection. Personal Content is not linked to any particular course, and does not expire when your courses do according to the Course Retention Guidelines. Your Personal Content Collection also has a quota of 500 MB, twice that of a Course Content Collection.
Items in your Personal Content Collection are only available to you by default. You can change permissions to your content by modifying permission settings, outlined in Permissions below.
When you access your Content Collection through the top level menu bar in the top right, your default view is your Personal Content Collection.
When you access your Content Collection this way, your navigation bar on the right will look a little different.
Clicking My Content will take you to your Personal Content Collection, and Institution Content will still take you to the shared institution folders. However, Course Content will take you to a list of course folders for all the courses you are instructing. Clicking on each one will open the Content Collection for that particular course.
Content uploaded to a Content Collection will automatically inherit the permissions of that folder. The only exception to this is when content is added to a Course Content Collection automatically by uploading it to a content area in that course. These permissions can be changed manually, however, which will allow that content to be viewable to whoever is given permission.
Permissions can be changed one of two ways. If there is Permissions column in your Content Management Window, you can click on the icon to modify the permissions for that specific item or folder. You can also click on the context menu of an item or folder (at the item level OR the top folder level) illustrated below.
- Adjust permissions for Syllabus.docx.
- Adjust permissions for ActionItemButton.PNG
- Adjust permissions for the entire folder and both items in it.
When you select any of these options, you will be taken to a page that displays all the currently existing permissions for that item or folder.
Here, we can see that users in this course with the role of Course Builder, Instructor and Teaching Assistant all have the ability to Read (download), Write (upload), Remove (delete) and Manage (edit the settings of) this particular file. In this example, we want to make it so that the students in this course can Read (download) this file. We do not want them to have any additional permissions beyond this. The best way to do this is to Select Specific Users By Place.
To select users within this course, select Course.
Here, you will be taken to a list of all your courses. Check all that apply. It is possible to give permissions to users within multiple courses. Anything done here can be undone later.
Next, select the role within the above courses that you wish to set the permissions for. In this example, we will check Student.
Finally, we select what type of permissions we wish to give. In this example, we will only check Read, which means that the above users in the above courses will only be able to download the file or folder we are modifying.
Click Submit to save.
Now, we can see that students in this course have the ability to Read (download) this particular file or folder.