Course Merge (Crosslisting)

Contents

Course Merge (Crosslisting)

Instructors who teach multiple sections of the same class may prefer to manage those sections through a single master class with associated child classes. Active classes (classes with student submissions) should never be made into a child class of a merge class relationship.

In the class listing, master and child classes are always displayed together, with child classes indicated by an up arrow in the status column, pointing to the master class. New content must be managed from the master class. Child classes are marked as unavailable, but can be managed through the master class.

To edit or manage a child class only, it needs to be separated from its master class.

Upon being merged, all enrollments in the child class are replicated in the master class, and any future enrollment changes in the child class are also synchronized automatically with the master class. Duplicate student enrollments are reported and ignored. Users in other roles, such as grader, teaching assistant, or guest, are assigned roles based on the last time they are added to the master class.

Merging and separating course sections may only be done by system administrators at this time. If you would like to have multiple Blackboard course sections merged, please complete a course merge request form.

Return to top

Setting Up Section Groups

As an instructor using a master course to deliver content to multiple child sections, it can be very useful to be able to select students based on the sections in which they are registered for grading, project group assignments, and section-based e-mail communications. This can be done by creating groups in the child courses prior to the merge, exporting those groups and their members, merging the course sections, and then importing the group names and group member lists into the merged master course.

To create a group in a course that includes all of the students in the course, go to the Users and Groups link in your course control panel, click on Groups, and then follow the instructions for “How to Create a Single Group” using the Manual Enroll option. These instructions can be found in the Knowledge Base post Groups.

To export your groups in a course, go to the Users and Groups link in your course control panel, click on Groups, and then click on the Export button to bring up the Export Groups and Members form. Select Groups and group members, and click on the Submit button. You should expect to receive an e-mail message with a link to download a .zip file containing .csv files containing the groups and group members, which you can later import into the merged (master) course using the Import button on the Groups form in the master course.

In the master course, you can create Smart Views for the groups using an option in the Bulk Actions button on the Groups form. Smart Views allow you to selectively view grade center content based on criteria that you specify, including group membership. For more information on Smart Views, please visit the Knowledge Base post on Smart Views.

Return to top

Course Separation (restricted to system administrators)

Separation removes a child class from a merged set of classes. The class itself is not deleted, but becomes a distinct class. It is no longer associated with the merged set and does not contain material from its former master class. The separated class retains both its content and enrollments from the moment it was separated out.

  1. On the Administrator Panel, in the Classes section, click Classes.
  2. Search for a class.
  3. Child classes are listed with their associated master classes and are designated with an arrow in the status column.
  4. Access the child class’s contextual menu.
  5. Click Separate.
  6. On the Separate page, select an option for managing the child class’s existing enrollments in the master class:
    • Retain Master Enrollments keeps the enrollments in the master class, but marks them as unavailable. Choose this option if there is user data such as grades or assignment submissions that should be preserved in the master class.
    • Remove Master Enrollments removes any enrollments that were added to the master class when the child class was originally merged with it. Choose this option if you do not want users enrolled in this class to remain enrolled in the master class. For example, choose this option if the class to be separated was accidentally merged into the set.
  7. Click Submit.

Return to top