Instructor Course Copy

Contents

Course Copy

NOTE: If you’ve provisioned your course with Panopto, you will likely need to contact the ETC to create a new folder for the current course or to change the permission settings on the folder from the old course.  Depending on your initial setup, this may or may not impact your current students’ ability to view your Panopto content, however we recommend contacting us after you’ve completed the copy just to be safe.  We can be reached at (412) 648-2832 or etc@cidde.pitt.edu on weekdays from 8:30-5:00.

You can copy courses and use them as a convenient way to reuse and adapt existing course structures, materials, and content. Copying course materials into an existing course adds content to a course, but does not remove existing content. You can only copy materials into a course if you have the role of instructor, teaching assistant (TA), or course builder.

Return to top

How to Copy a Course

  1. Access the course you want to copy.
  2. On the Control Panel, expand the Packages and Utilities section and click Course Copy.
  3. Select the appropriate option:
    • Copy Course Materials into an Existing Course
  4. In the Destination Course ID box, either enter the course ID for the course that will be created and populated with content from the current course or click the Browse button to find the course ID if you aren’t sure of the exact course ID name.
  5. Select the course materials that you want to copy over. If you want to copy over all materials, click the Select All button.
    Note: A course copy operation cannot be completed if you do not select at least one of the following areas: Content, Contacts, or Settings. If you do not select one of these options, a warning appears.
  6. In the File Attachments section, select the option to copy links to:
      • Copy Links to Course Files: No copies of linked files are included in the copy. The copied course will have the same set of links and those links will point back to the original location of the link defined in the original course.
      • Copy links and copies of the content: This will make copies of linked files, but ONLY those files that are linked. Files within the course’s home folder that are not linked to any content within the course are not included in the copy. Most users will choose this option.
      • Copy links and copies of the content (include entire course home folder): This will make copies of ALL files in the course’s home folder regardless of whether those files are linked to course content. This is the selection to use if you have Captivate, Articulate, SCORM or other programattic content in your course.You need manage permission on an item to include copies of those files. If you do not have this permission, you may be missing some files after the copy.

     

  7. If you don’t want to use the default course content folder, select the Folder for Content Collection Files, if you want to use a folder in your personal content collection instead of the default course content folder. Most users will use the default folder.
  8. If you want to include your enrollments from the original course, select Enrollments to copy the list of users in the course from the earlier course. User records, such as discussion board posts, grades, and assessment attempts will not be copied. Most users will not include their original enrollments in the new course.
  9. Click Submit.

Return to top

Behavior of Copied Materials

Before you begin the copy operation, be sure to set the availability of the original course to unavailable if you want your destination course to be unavailable. The copy operation applies the course availability of the source course to the destination course. If the destination course’s availability is set to unavailable, but the original course is available, the destination course’s availability is changed.

These actions occur when copying course materials:

  • Content: Course materials, including uploaded files, learning modules, and links are copied. Course information, course documents, assignments and URLs are optional.Assignments created inside lesson plans will not copy properly. Be sure to copy your assignments separately to ensure that everything is correct.
  • Announcements: All announcements are copied.
  • Tests, Surveys, and Pools: All tests and surveys, including questions and options for deploying them are copied. All pools are copied.
  • Calendar: All calendar items are copied to the new course.
  • Dates: Course item and tool dates do not change. To learn how to quickly adjust dates, see Date Management.
  • Discussion Board: Decide whether to include starter posts for each thread in each forum (anonymously) or include only forums with no started posts in the course copy.
  • Grade Center Items and Settings: Items in the Grade Center and their settings such as type, categories, and display options are copied.
  • Group Settings: Settings include the names of the groups, the settings for tool availability, and the discussion board forum names.
  • Contacts: All contacts are copied.
  • Course Settings: If selected, the following settings are copied:
    • Course Name
    • Course Description
    • Course Entry Point
    • Course Design
    • Course Banner
    • Blackboard Tools
    • Building Block Tools
    • Content Tools
    • Course ID
    • Course Availability
    • Guest Access
    • Observer Access
    • Course Duration
    • Enrollment Options
  • Links: Links to parts of a course that are not included in the copy will break when the links appear in the destination course. For example, if a link to a test appears in a course area and you choose not to copy tests, the link to the test will break.
  • Course Cartridge Materials: The course cartridge materials option is only successful if the source course includes copy-protected cartridge content and the destination course does not have a cartridge ID.
  • Content Areas: Content from content areas appearing on the course menu that have the same name in each course will be added in the same content area. Nothing is removed from the destination course and replaced with content from the source course.
  • Enrollments: If selected, the list of users in the course is copied. User records, such as discussion board posts, grades, and assessment attempts are not copied.

Delegated Grading Setting Without Enrollments

When you copy or import a course without enrollments into an existing course, the delegated setting is brought over as enabled for all existing delegated grading assignments. All current users who can reconcile are also set to grade all submissions.

Return to top

Resolving Copied Course Items

When copying content and tools from one course to an existing course, the course menu must resolve itself in the destination course. The following table describes how course menu items are resolved.

If Then
A course area in the source course does not exist in the destination course. The area will be added to the course menu in the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name and are of the same type, for example, Web Links, Course Documents, or Content. The content from the source course will be added, but will not replace the content in the area within the destination course.
The course area in the source course and the course area in the destination course have the same name but are of different types. The course area from the source course will be added to the destination course under a different name. The new name will append an incremental numeral to the name. For example, Course Materials will become Course Materials1.

Return to top

Copy Course Cartridge Content

Copy-protected cartridge content is only copied if you select the Course Cartridge Materials option. This option only appears if there is copy-protected cartridge content in the course. The destination course maintains the availability settings for the source course.

If the destination course already has a cartridge ID (meaning it already includes copy-protected cartridge content), neither the cartridge content nor the cartridge ID may be copied from the source course to the destination course. If you select the Course Cartridge Materials option, the copy operation will be successful, but a note in the receipt states that the course cartridge materials will not be copied.

If the source course and the destination course have the same cartridge ID, the content may be copied successfully.

Return to top

Watch a Tutorial

Return to top